The Changing Work Centre

The advisory panel

Lise Butler is a lecturer in History at Pembroke College, Oxford and an expert on the history of the Labour Party.

Liam Byrne is MP for Birmingham Hodge Hill. He served as Shadow Secretary for Work and Pensions under Ed Miliband.

David Coats is the founder and director of WorkMatters Consulting as well as a research fellow at the Smith Institute.

Simon Franks is a businessman who co-founded LoveFilm and works on a number of philanthropic enterprises.

Richard Freeman is a Professor of Economics at Harvard University and the author of numerous books, including Shared Capitalism at Work: Employee Ownership, Profit and Gain Sharing, and Broad-based Stock Options.

Joe Goldberg is a Labour councillor in Haringey where he serves as Cabinet Member for Economic Development, Social Inclusion and Sustainability.

Lord Anthony Giddens is a Labour peer, a world-renowned sociologist and former Director of LSE.

Kate Green is MP for Stretford and Urmston and Shadow Minister for Women and Equalities.

Paul Gregg is Professor of Economic and Social Policy at the University of Bath and a Commissioner on the Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission.

Peter Kyle is MP for Hove. He has experience as an executive in the charity sector.

Sonny Leong is the Chair of Chinese for Labour and a member of the Development Board of the Labour 1000 Club.

Claire McCarthy is General Secretary of the Co-operative Party.

John Philpott is an economist specialising on the labour market and employment trends.

Norman Pickavance is a former Group HR and Communications Director at Morrisons. He recently led an inquiry on zero hour contracts for the former Leader of the Opposition.

Tom Price is a former advisor to the Labour Party and current Director of Communications for Google.

Lady Margaret Prosser is a Labour peer and former President of the TUC.

Nicola Smith is Head of Economic and Social Affairs at the TUC.

Stefan Stern is Director of the High Pay Centre and sits on the Centre for Labour and Social Studies’ National Advisory Panel.

Bill Thomas is former Executive Vice-President of computer firm EDS EMEA and served as Chair of Labour’s Small Business Taskforce under Ed Miliband.

Anna Turley is MP for Redcar. She previously worked as special advisor to the Department of Work and Pensions.

Ruth Yeoman manages the Centre for Mutual and Employee-owned Business at the University of Oxford, and is the author of Meaningful Work and Workplace Democracy.