Fabian Annual Conference 2013: Next State featuring Ed Miliband

Institute of Education, University of London

Event starts:

Fabian Society New Year Conference: Next State will be taking place on Saturday January 12th and this year’s special guest will be Ed Miliband. 

The venue will be the same as last year, the Institute of Education, 20 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AL. Registration will start from 9:45 and the day will finish around 18:00.

Thank you to everyone who attended our New Year Conference. There were over 1000 attendees enjoying 65 different speakers and the event was covered by all major media outlets.

You can read Ed Miliband’s speech to the Fabian Society by heading to the Labour website.


Last year was our biggest annual conference ever and some of our members were left without a ticket. Get yours early as we’ve frozen Member ticket prices for another year.

A full timetable for the day can be found here.

Final Update: This event is now sold-out. There may be returns on the day (payable by cash only) but we cannot guarantee entry or hold tickets.


Lord Adonis (Industrial Policy, Labour’s Policy Review), Jessica Asato (Chair, Fabian Society), Ivana Bartoletti (Editor, Fabiana), Rafael Behr (The New Statesman), Hilary Benn MP (Shadow Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government), Luciana Berger MP, Chris Bryant MP, Peter Carter (Royal College of Nurses), Karin Christiansen (General Secretary, Cooperative Party), Jeremy Cliffe (The Economist), Philip Collins (The Times), Dan Corry (Former advisor to Gordon Brown), Jason Cowley (Editor, New Statesman), Angela Eagle MP (Chair, Labour’s National Policy Forum), Mark Ferguson (editor, LabourList), Frank Field MP (Former Minister for Welfare Reform), Dermot Finch (The Prince’s Trust), Kate Green MP (Shadow Equalities Minister), Andrew Harrop (General Secretary, Fabian Society), Margaret Hodge MP (Chair, Public Accounts Committee), Sunny Hundal (Editor, Liberal Conspiracy), Dr Rupa Huq, Sarah Hutchinson (Fabian Women’s Network), Will Hutton (Observer), Michael Izza (Chief Executive, ICAEW), Owen Jones (The Independent), Tessa Jowell MP, Peter Kellner (President, YouGov), Liz Kendall MP (Shadow Health), Shiv Malik (Guardian), Deborah Mattinson (co-founder, BritainThinks), Alison McGovern MP, Jim McMahon (Leader of Oldham Council), Ed Miliband MP (Leader of the Labour Party), Fiona Millar (journalist and education campaigner), Michelle Mitchell (AgeUK), Tim Montgomerie (Editor, Conservative:Home), James Morris (Pollster, Greenberg Quinlan Rosner), Rick Muir (IPPR), Lisa Nandy MP (Shadow Education Minister), Frances O’Grady (General Secretary, TUC), Cllr Sally Prentice, Vicky Pryce (economist, former Joint Head of Government Economic Service), Steve Race (Chair, YoungFabians), Rachel Reeves MP (Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury), Emma Reynolds MP (Shadow Minister for Europe), Marcus Roberts (Deputy General Secretary, Fabian Society), Yvonne Roberts (Observer), Michael Shaw (Times Educational Supplement), Anna Smee (The Young Foundation), Jacqui Smith (Former Home Secretary), Sonia Sodha (Dartington Social Research Unit), Ernst Stetter (FEPS), Polly Toynbee (The Guardian), Stephen Twigg MP (Shadow Secretary of State for Education), Joe Twyman (YouGov), Catherine West (Leader of Islington Council), Jon Wilson (author, ‘Letting Go’), Lord Wood (Shadow Cabinet Minister without portfolio).

Join the debate on twitter using: #fab13

Accomodation: Coming from outside London? We’ve put together a list of hotels with the Corporate Team. Follow the link if you need a place to stay.

Join the Fabian Society today and get 50% off the price of your ticket. Pay just £19 / £9.50 (concessions) for your conference ticket.This offer is available by direct debit only. 


To buy your ticket via Paypal select an option below. You can also pay by direct debit by clicking here or by calling 0207 227 4900

Member Tickets: £30 / £15 (concessions)

Non-member tickets:
£38 / £19 (Concessions)

Concessions are those who are either retired, unemployed, registered disabled and students.


This event wouldn’t be possible without the kind support of our partners:


Media Partners: