Fabian New Year Conference 2016: Facing the Future

Event starts:

Saturday 16 January 2016, 9.15am-5pm | Institute of Education, 20 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AL

Full programme now available here

We are delighted to announce that Fabian New Year Conference 2016 will take place on Saturday 16 January, from 9.15am (registration) until 5pm, at the Institute of Education. Our keynote speaker will be Jeremy Corbyn MP, leader of the Labour party.

Our 2016 New Year Conference is part of Facing the Future, the Fabian Society’s new programme on Labour’s renewal. As well as hosting the Labour party leader, we will be joined by politicians, experts and commentators from across the Labour movement and beyond, and the day will feature a range of speeches, plenaries, breakouts, and interactive member-led sessions.

Labour must make itself relevant for the 2020s and broaden its appeal to people who rejected it in May. Throughout the conference, we will bring you the fundamental debates that Labour needs on its purpose, organisation and ideas.

Other speakers include:

Sadiq Khan MP (Labour’s candidate for London Mayor), Lisa Nandy MP (shadow secretary of state for energy and climate change), Seema Malhotra MP (shadow chief secretary to the Treasury and chair, Fabian Society), Andy Slaughter MP (shadow justice minister), Dawn Butler MP (Brent Central), Stella Creasy MP (Walthamstow), Dan Jarvis MP (Barnsley Central), Rachel Reeves MP (Leeds West), Emma Reynolds MP (Wolverhampton North East), Keir Starmer MP (Holborn and St Pancras), Chuka Umunna MP (Streatham), Dianne Hayter (Labour peer), Glenys Thornton (Labour peer), Richard Angell (director, Progress), Olivia Bailey (research director, Fabian Society), Emma Burnell (head of external affairs, NLGN), Malcolm Chalmers (research director, Royal United Services Institute), Karin Christiansen (former general secretary, Co-operative party), Bev Craig (Manchester city councillor, and former chair, LGBT Labour), Frances Crook (chief executive, Howard League for Penal Reform), Patrick Diamond (lecturer in public policy, Queen Mary, University of London), George Eaton (political editor, New Statesman), Roger Harding (director of communications, policy and campaigns, Shelter), Andrew Harrop (general secretary, Fabian Society), Sarah Hayward (leader, Camden council), Kate Hudson (general secretary, CND), Sara Ibrahim (executive committee member, Fabian Society), Daniel Johnson (Scottish parliament candidate), Owen Jones (columnist, the Guardian), Deborah Mattinson (founder, Britain Thinks), Lib Peck (leader, Lambeth council), Laurie Penny (author and columnist), Lucy Rigby (solicitor, and former parliamentary candidate for Lincoln), Charlotte Riley (Labour party historian), Greg Rosen (chair, Labour History Group), Sarah Sackman (former parliamentary candidate for Finchley and Golders Green), Sonia Sodha (chief leader-writer, the Observer), Ellie Southwood (vice-chair, RNIB), Marc Stears (professor of political theory and fellow, University College, Oxford), Ernst Stetter (secretary general, Foundation of European Progressive Studies), Polly Toynbee (columnist, the Guardian), plus many more to be announced.

The full agenda will be announced in the coming weeks; check this page for regular updates.

Follow the event on social media, using #Fab16.

If you’re not already a Fabian member, join today and get your ticket half price. Click here to join.


Concession tickets will be available for those who are retired, unwaged, full-time students or under 21.

Non-Members, £40:

Members, £30:

Member (concessions), £20:

This Conference is jointly organised by the Fabian Society and Foundation for European Progressive Studies

Organised jointly with:

Media partner: