Fabian summer conference 2017: Path to Power

Kings College London Waterloo Campus

Event starts:

Saturday 8 July 2017, 9.30am-5.30pm | Franklin-Wilkins Building, Kings College London Waterloo Campus, Stamford Street, London SE1 9NH

Download the draft conference programme >

Taking place exactly one month after the election this conference will provide a space for crucial discussion and debate about the future direction of the left.
Against the odds Labour increased its vote share and made wining the next election a real possibility. Now there is a clear path to power. As such, this year’s Fabian summer conference will ask what can Labour do to win the next election? consolidate its new coalition of voters? expand further in Scotland? shape Brexit? build a plan for the next Labour government? The conference will also look at Labour in power in local government and devolved authorities as well as looking wider at a revival of progressive politics across Europe.

Announced speakers:

Keynote: Yvette Cooper MP (Normaton, Pontefract and Castleford & former cabinet member)

Mike Gapes MP (Ilford South), Kate Green MP (Stretford & Urmston & Fabian Society chair), Seema Malhotra MP (Feltham & Heston), Alison McGovern MP (Wirral South), Jim McMahon MP (Oldham West & Royton), Lisa Nandy MP (Wigan), Andy Slaughter MP (Hammersmith), Mary Honeyball MEP (London), Anas Sarwar MSP (Glasgow), Jeremy Miles AM (Neath), Mayor John Biggs (Tower Hamlets), Mayor Robin Wales (Newham), Lord Roy Kennedy (Labour peer & shadow DCLG minister), Baroness Jan Royall (former leader, House of Lords), Cllr Bev Craig (executive member, Manchester City Council), Richard Angell (director, Progress), Johanna Baxter (Scottish Labour SEC), Emma Bean (staff writer, LabourList), Jasmin Beckett (Labour NEC), Torsten Bell (director, Resolution Foundation), Stephen Bush (special correspondent, New Statesman), Sarah Church (former PPC, South Swindon), Giacomo Filibeck (deputy secretary general, PES), Maya Goodfellow (commentator), Ayesha Hazarika (commentator & former Labour advisor), Owen Jones (columnist, Guardian), Deborah Mattinson (founder, Britain Thinks),  John Mills (entrepreneur & chair, Labour funder), Linda Perks (regional organiser, UNISON), Ann Pettifor (director, Policy Research in Macroeconomics), Ania Skrzypek (senior research fellow, FEPS), Stefan Soesanto (digital policy fellow, ECFR), Ernst Stetter (secretary general, FEPS), Abi Wilkinson (commentator)

There will also be small group-discussions throughout the day, so you will have the opportunity to debate ideas with senior figures from across the Labour movement and beyond.

The venue is fully accessible and there is a hearing loop

If you’re not already a Fabian member, join today and get your ticket half price. Click here to join >>


Organised with:

Media partner: