New Year Conference 2014

Institute of Education, 20 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AL

Event starts:

We are delighted to announce that our 2014 New Year Conference will take place on Saturday 25th January 2014.

The keynote speaker for our conference will be the shadow chancellor of the exchequer, Ed Balls.

Confirmed speakers so far include: Ed Balls MP, Jess Asato (Chair, Fabian Society), Rachel Reeves MP, Polly Toynbee (The Guardian), Andrew Harrop (General Secretary, Fabian Society), Paul Johnson (Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies), Rafael Behr (Political Editor, New Statesman), Emma Reynolds MP, Grainia Long (Chief Executive, CIH), Lord Adonis, Lord Newby, Sir Michael Lyons (Chair, Lyons Commission), Rebecca Evans, Chuka Umunna MP, Michael Izza (Chief Executive, ICAEW), Peter Kellner (President, YouGov), Rushanara Ali MP, Peter Hyman (Headteacher, School 21), Mari Williams (PPC, Cardiff North), Michael Shaw (Director, TES Pro), Jack Monroe (food blogger), Richard Wilkinson (co-author The Spirit Level), Alison McGovern MP, Gregg McClymont MP, Kate Green MP, Liz Kendall MP, Chris Hopson (Chief Executive, Foundation Trust Network), Angela Coulter (Director of Global Initiatives, Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making), Sarah Hutchinson (Fabian Women’s Network), George Eaton (Editor, The Staggers), Emma Burnell (Blogger), Mark Pack (Editor, Lib Dem Newswire), Jeremy Cliffe (British Correspondent, The Economist), Ed Wallis (Editor, Fabian Review), Lord Stewart Wood, James Hallwood (Chair, Young Fabians), Liz Kendall MP, Matt Dykes (Policy Officer, TUC), Cllr Sarah Hayward (Leader, Camden Council), Sonia Sodha (Head of Public Services & Consumer Rights, Which?), Stephen Twigg MP, Baroness Helena Kennedy, Joe Klein (Author of Primary Colours), Katie Ghose (Chief Executive, ERS), Liam Byrne MP, Laurie Penny (Contributing Editor, New Statesman), Caroline Flint MP, Chris Huhne, Natan Doron, Gloria de Piero MP, Mark Ferguson (Editor, LabourList), Rowenna Davis (PPC, Southampton Itchen), James Morris (Greenberg Quinlan Rosner Research), Andrew Sparrow (The Guardian), Margaret Hodge MP, Lord Maurice Glasman, Sadiq Khan MP

Click here for full schedule and details of sessions for the day

The Institute of Education is conveniently located close to Russell Square and Goodge Street tube stations. The day will run between 10:00 – 18:00 (approx).


Concession tickets will be available for those who are retired, unemployed, registered disabled, or full-time students.

One off purchases

Join today offer



Buy Now Button with Credit Cards



Buy Now Button with Credit Cards

Members (Concessions)


Buy Now Button with Credit Cards

If you are not already a member of the Fabian Society you can buy a New Year Conference ticket for £30 (£20 concessions) and get 6 months free membership.

Click here to go to our secure direct debit site and purchase your ticket

By taking up the New Year Conference 2014 offer, you agree to join the Fabian Society. After a one off payment of £30 (£20 reduced rate) monthly subscription payments of £3.50 (£1.75 reduced rate) will begin after 6 months. The reduced price is available to people who are unwaged (students, unemployed, retired).