Fabian Society Summer Conference: Britain’s Future, Labour’s Future

Event starts:



This year’s Fabian Summer Conference ‘Britain’s Future, Labour’s Future’ examined the UK’s EU referendum choice and mapped out routes to recovery for the centre left. The day divided into two halves, with the morning devoted to questions on Britain and Europe and the afternoon asking how the Labour Party can respond to today’s other economic, social and political challenges.

Our keynote speaker Gordon Brown delivered a major speech on the EU referendum.

During the rest of the morning the conference debated the competing arguments of the ‘Leave’ and ‘Remain’ campaigns – and after lunch the conference explored the future direction of the left.

The conference was kindly supported by ICAEW and organised with FEPS. It took place in central London at TUC Congress Centre, 28 Great Russell Street, London, WC1b 3LS.

There was also a speech from Massimo D’Alema, former Italian Prime Minister.

Gordon and Massimo were joined by some brilliant speakers from the Labour Party and beyond, including:

Angela Eagle MP (Shadow First Secretary of State and Shadow Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills), Nia Griffith MP (Shadow Secretary of State for Wales), Owen Smith MP (Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions), Yvette Cooper MP (Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford), Caroline Flint MP (Don Valley),Margaret Hodge MP (Barking),  Liz Kendall MP (Leicester West), Shabana Mahmood MP (Birmingham Ladywood), Jim McMahon MP (Oldham West and Royton), Jonathan Reynolds MP (Stalybridge and Hyde), Keir Starmer MP (Holborn and St Pancras),  Catherine West MP (Hornsey and Wood Green), Lucy Anderson MEP (London Labour),  Baroness Jenny Jones (Green Party), Richard Angell (Progress), Antonia Bance (TUC), Ivana Bartoletti (chair, FWN), Johanna Baxter (Labour NEC), Stephen Bush (New Statesman), Brendan Chilton (Labour Leave), Philip Collins (The Times), John Denham (Centre for English Identity and Politics), Suzanne Evans (UKIP and board member of Vote Leave), Sophy Gardner (Ex-RAF operations), Andrew Harrop (Fabian Society), Cordelia Hay (Britain Thinks), Ayesha Hazarika (political commentator), Michael Izza (ICAEW), John Mills (deputy chair, Vote Leave), Elizabeth Quintana (RUSI),Lee McGowan (Belfast University), Tim Montgomerie (The Times),  Bob Price (Oxford Labour), Vicky Pryce (economist), John Park (Community), Nick Pickavance (chair, Fabian Society retail industry taskforce), Ellie Reeves (Labour NEC), John Rentoul (The Independent),  Adam Ludlow (ComRes), Alexandra Runswick (Unlock Democracy), Felicity Slater (FWN), Cameron Tait (Fabian Society), Polly Toynbee (The Guardian), Ed Wallis (Fabian Society).



Organised in association with:

FEPS logo