Jenny Jeger Prize 2017

Claire Sewell

Prize for longer writing

Winner | Our Shared Responsibility, by Jessica Toale

Runner-up | Civic Socialism, by Ed Wallis

The panel traditionally regard the General Secretary as ineligible for a prize, but that we thought For Us All by Andrew Harrop would otherwise have been an obvious prizewinner


Prize for shorter writing

Winner | Childcare, by Caroline Flint MP and Sharon Hodgson MP – chapter in This Woman Can

Winner | Backwards March, by David Clark – essay in Fabian Review, Autumn 2016

Winner | Fixing the Windows, by Sheila Chapman, essay in Fabian Review, Spring 2017


Prize for young writers

Winner | Outsiders, by Adebusuyi Adeyemi and Olivia Bailey

Runner-up | A doorstep perspective, by Ludovica Orlando – article in Fabian Review, Winter 2016

Runner-up |Moving into Work, by Lauren Pitt – from An Inclusive Future


The Jenny Jeger prize is organised to commemorate
Jenny Jeger, life-long Fabian and chair of the society
in 1884.
  • (will not be published)

Please read our community standards