Local Fabians

 

There are over 60 Local Fabian Societies across the UK, bringing Fabian debates to communities around the country.

Use the map below to find your nearest local Fabian Society and get in touch with the organiser to find out more about their activities.

 

Check back here for the most up to date Local Fabian Society listings

Bexley

Regular meetings- for information contact Alan Scutt on 0208 304 0413 or alan.scutt@phonecoop.coop

Birmingham

Wed 26 November The Middle East – New ChallengesSpeakers: Adam Quinn and Professor Kemal Hawwash, both from Birmingham University.

 

For further information email Andrew Coulson at Andrew@CoulsonBirmingham.co.uk


Bournemouth & District

31 October. Dr Alan Whitehead MP on ‘Housing’.  Meetings at The Friends Meeting House, Wharncliffe Road, Boscombe, Bournemouth.South West Regional Fabian Society Conference    Saturday 15th November 2014, Miramar Hotel, Bournemouth, BH1 3AL10.00 – 4.30. £26 including coffee and light refreshments, full buffet lunch and afternoon tea and cakes!

‘The Many Not the Few: Tackling Inequality in Labour’s Britain’

Details and tickets from http://www.fabians.org.uk/events/south-west-regional-fabian-society-conference/

 

Contact Ian Taylor on 01202 396634 for details of meetings or email taylorbournemouth@gmail.com


Brighton & Hove

Contact: Ralph Bayley, Hon Sec, ralphfbayley@gmail.com

Bristol

Contact arthur.massey@btinternet.com  or grosenberg@churchside.me.uk  or phone 0117 9693608

Cambridge

Details of meetings from Peter Haysom on cambridgefabians@gmail.com

Website
: www.cambridgefabians.org.uk

Facebook
: https://www.facebook.com/CambridgeFabianSociety

Camden


Cardiff and the Vale

Details of all meetings from Jonathan Wynne Evans on 02920 594 065 or wynneevans@phonecoop.coop

Central London

Details from Giles Wright on 0207 227 4904, giles.wright@fabians.org.ukCHATHAM and AYLESFORDNew Society forming.Please contact Sean Henry on 07545 296800 or seanhenry@live.co.uk 

Chiswick & West London

Thursday 30 October, 8.00 pm. Cameron Tait on “Low Pay and the Living Wage”. Committee Room of Chiswick Town Hall, Heathfield Terrace, W4 $JE. Details from Monty Bogard on 0208 994 1780, email mb014f1362@blueyonder.co.uk

Colchester

Details from John Wood on 01206 212100 or woodj@madasafish.com

Cumbria and North Lancashire

Venue: Castle Green Hotel Kendal.   For information please contact Dr Robert Judson, dr.robertjudson@btinternet.com

Dartford & Gravesham

 Thursday 6 November, 8 pm.  Marcus Roberts (Fabian Society) on UKIP.  Working Mens Club, Essex Road, Dartford.  Details from Deborah Stoate, deborah.stoate@fabians.org.uk

Derby

Details for meetings from Alan Jones on 01283 217140 or alan.mandh@btinternet.com

Doncaster & District

For details and information contact Kevin Rodgers on 07962 019168 or k.t.rodgers@gmail.com

East Lothian

Wednesday 22 October, 7.30 pm.  Rt Hon Jack Straw MP will give the John P Mackintosh lecture on Britain and the Middle East.  St Mary’s Parish Church, Sidegate, Harrington.  Doors open from 7 pm.  Details of meetings from Noel Foy on 01620 824386 or noelfoy@lewisk3.plus.com

Edinburgh

Details from Daniel Johnson, daniel@scottishfabians.org.uk

 


Finchley

Thursday 30 October, 8.00 pm.  Bruce Kent on Trident.  Blue Beetle, Hendon Lane, London,  N3 1TS.  Enquiries to Mike Walsh on 07980 602122, mike.walsh44@ntlworld.com

Glasgow

Regular local meetings. Contact Martin Hutchinson on mail@liathach.net

Gloucester

Regular meetings at TGWU, 1 Pullman Court, Great Western Rd, Gloucester. Details from Malcolm Perry at malcolmperry3@btinternet.com

Greenwich

Contact Chris Kirby, ccakirby@hotmail.co.uk

Grimsby

Sunday, 16th November, Andrew Harrop, the General Secretary of Fabians, will talk about how the next Labour manifesto can reshape Britain.Details from Pat Holland – hollandpat@hotmail.com

Harrow and District

27 October. 7.45 for 8 pm.Uma Kumaran, prospective parliamentary candidate for Harrow East.West Harrow Labour Centre, 132 Blenheim Road, HA2 7AA.Details from Marilyn Devine on 0208 424 9034

Hastings & Rye

Meetings held on last Friday of each month. Please contact Jean Webb, 59a Linton Road, Hastings, TN34 1TN

Havering

Thursday 6th November, 7.30 pm. Councillor Gavin Callaghan, a Councillor for NW Pitsea & Labour’s parliamentary candidate for Basildon & Billericay. The Old Chapel, Sacred Heart of Mary Girls’ School, St. Mary’s Lane, UPMINSTER, RM14 2QR    For details of all meetings email  David Marshall david.c.marshall.t21@btinternet.com   tel 01708 441189. For latest information see the website: http://haveringfabians.org.uk

Hornsey and Wood Green


Hull


Islington

Contact David Heinemann at dbheinemann@yahoo.co.uk

Leeds

For information on Leeds Fabians contact John Bracken at leedsfabians@gmail.com

Leicester


Manchester

Please contact Rosie Clayton for more information, mcrfabs@gmail.com  or go to Facebook www.facebook.com/ManchesterFabians    Twitter @MCR_Fab

Merseyside

For further information please contact Hetty Wood at hettyjay@gmail.com

Middlesbrough


Milton Keynes


Newham

Regular meetings.

Contact Tahmina Rahman – Tahmina_rahman_1@hotmail.com

Northumbria

For details and booking contact Pat Hobson at pat.hobson@hotmail.com

Northampton

Contact Dave Brede on davidbrede@yahoo.com

North Staffordshire


Norwich

Contact Andreas Paterson – andreas@headswitch.co.uk

Nottinghamshire

For information on meetings please contact Lee Garland

secretary@nottsfabians.org.uk

www.nottsfabians.org.uk

twitter
 @NottsFabians

———————————————————————–

Oxford

Wednesday 22 October from 7:30pm. Our speaker will be Dr Ben Jackson of University College, Oxford. RSVP Michael Weatherburn, michael.weatherburn@gmail.com


Peterborough

Friday November 14th: Europe/Immigration. James Hallwood & Martin Edobor, Young Fabians. All meetings at the Quality Hotel, Thorpe Meadows, Commencing at 8 pm.   Details from Brian Keegan on 01733 265769, email brian@briankeegan.demon.co.uk

Portsmouth

Contact David Wardle : email david.wardle@waitrose.com

Reading & District

For details please contact Tony Skuse:

Telephone: 01189785829  /07793529280 e-mail: tonyskuse2000@yahoo.co.uk

Sheffield

Details and information from Robert Murray on 0114 255 8341 or email robertljmurray@hotmail.com

South East London

For details of meetings, contact Cllr Sally Prentice, email sally.prentice@btinternet.com

South West London

Thursday 30th October 2014, with guest speaker Andrew Spooner talking on the threat of UKIP at the next general election. Information from Tony Eades at tonyeades@hotmail.co.uk

Southampton

Meetings at St Andrews United Reform Church, The Avenue, Southampton, SO17 1XQ. Contact:  Eliot Horn, eliot.horn@btinternet.com 

South Tyneside

10 November, 7.15 pm.  Vera Baird QC, Police and Crime Commissioner. Venue: Little Haven Hotel.  For more information please contact Paul Freeman on 0191 5367 633 or at freemanpsmb@blueyonder.co.uk

Suffolk

21 October, 7.30 pm. Dr Jenny Morris on ‘Rethinking Disability Policy’. at Co-op Education Centre, Fore Street. .  Details from John Cook on 01473 255131, email contact@ipswich-labour.org.uk

Surrey

Sunday 19 October, 3 pm -Jenny Earle of the Prison Reform Trust on the Prison service. . Meetings at Education Centre, Guildford Cathedral.   Details from Robert Park on 01483 422253, robert.park.woodroad@gmail.com

Tonbridge & Tunbridge Wells

Contact John Champneys on 01892 523429

Tower Hamlets

Contact: Kevin Morton, Chair of Tower Hamlets Fabians – 07958 314846

E-mail – towerhamletsfabiansociety@googlemail.com

Twitter – @THFabians


Tynemouth

Monthly supper meetings, details from Brian Flood on 0191 258 3949

Warwickshire

THURSDAY 23 OCTOBER, 7:30 pm (to 9 pm) Title: “The Obstacles to Teaching”  Speaker: Andrew Smith   Place: 28 Regent Place, Rugby, CV21 2PN.Details  from Ben Ferrett on ben_ferrett@hotmail.com

http://warwickshirefabians.blogspot.com


West Durham

Meets normally on the last Saturday of alternate months at the Joiners Arms, Hunwick between 12.15 and 2.00pm – light lunch £3.00

Contact the Secretary Cllr Professor Alan Townsend, 62A Low Willington, Crook, Durham DL15 OBG 01388 746479  Alan.Townsend@dur.ac.uk

Wimbledon

Contact Andy Ray on 07944 545161 or andyray@blueyonder.co.uk

York

Regular meetings on third or fourth Fridays at 7.45 at Jacob’s Well, Off Miklegate, York. Details from Steve Burton on steve.burton688@mod.uk