Local Fabians

 

There are over 60 Local Fabian Societies across the UK, bringing Fabian debates to communities around the country.

Use the map below to find your nearest local Fabian Society and get in touch with the organiser to find out more about their activities.

 

Check back here for the most up to date Local Fabian Society listings

Bexley

Regular meetings- for information contact Alan Scutt on 0208 304 0413 or alan.scutt@phonecoop.coop

Birmingham

Tuesday 3 Feb 2015: What should Labour do about Executive Pay? The discussion will be introduced by William Franklin.   For further information email Andrew Coulson at Andrew@CoulsonBirmingham.co.uk

Bournemouth & District

Contact Ian Taylor on 01202 396634 for details of meetings or email taylorbournemouth@gmail.com

Brighton & Hove

Friday 23rd January, 8.00 pm. Marcus Roberts (Fabian Society) on ‘Labour’s next Majority – Challenges and Opportunities’. Venue: The Friends Meeting House, Ship Street, Brighton, BN1 1AF.   Contact: Ralph Bayley, Hon Sec, ralphfbayley@gmail.com

Bristol

Contact arthur.massey@btinternet.com  or grosenberg@churchside.me.uk  or phone 0117 9693608

Cambridge

Details of meetings from Peter Haysom on cambridgefabians@gmail.com

Website
: www.cambridgefabians.org.uk

Facebook
: https://www.facebook.com/CambridgeFabianSociety

Camden


Cardiff and the Vale

Details of all meetings from Jonathan Wynne Evans on 02920 594 065 or wynneevans@phonecoop.coop

Central London

Wednesday 21 January, 7.30 pm.  Baroness Dianne Hayter.  Meeting Room, 61 Petty France, Westminster, SW1H 9EU  Details of meetings from Giles Wright on 0207 227 4904, giles.wright@fabians.org.uk———————————————————————————————————-

 

CHATHAM and AYLESFORD

New Society forming.  Please contact Sean Henry on 07545 296800 or seanhenry@live.co.uk


Chiswick & West London

Thursday, 4 December, 8.00 p.m. AGM plus Sara Ibrahim on “Equality: Where next for Labour?”.Committee Room of Chiswick Town Hall, Heathfield Terrace, London W4 4JE.   Details from Monty Bogard on 0208 994 1780, email mb014f1362@blueyonder.co.uk

Colchester

Details from John Wood on 01206 212100 or woodj@madasafish.com

Cumbria and North Lancashire

Venue: Castle Green Hotel Kendal.   For information please contact Dr Robert Judson, dr.robertjudson@btinternet.com

Dartford & Gravesham

 Details from Deborah Stoate, deborah.stoate@fabians.org.uk

Derby

Details for meetings from Alan Jones on 01283 217140 or alan.mandh@btinternet.com

Doncaster & District

For details and information contact Kevin Rodgers on 07962 019168 or k.t.rodgers@gmail.com

East Lothian

Scottish Fabians Christmas Dinner with Lord McConnell. 18th December 2014, 7.30 pm. Raddison Blu, Royal Mile, Edinburgh. Tickets £35.00. Buy from www.scottishfabians.org.uk/christmas-dinner/Details of meetings from Noel Foy on 01620 824386 or noelfoy@lewisk3.plus.com

————————————————————————–

Edinburgh

Details from Daniel Johnson, daniel@scottishfabians.org.uk

 


Finchley

Meetings at Blue Beetle, Hendon Lane, N3 1TS.  Enquiries to Mike Walsh on 07980 602122, mike.walsh44@ntlworld.com

Glasgow

Regular local meetings. Contact Martin Hutchinson on mail@liathach.net

Gloucester

Regular meetings at TGWU, 1 Pullman Court, Great Western Rd, Gloucester. Details from Malcolm Perry at malcolmperry3@btinternet.com

Greenwich

Contact Chris Kirby, ccakirby@hotmail.co.uk

Grimsby

Details from Pat Holland – hollandpat@hotmail.com

Harrow and District

Meetings at West Harrow Labour Centre, 132 Blenheim Road, HA2 7AA.  Details from Marilyn Devine on 0208 424 9034

Hastings & Rye

Meetings held on last Friday of each month. Please contact Jean Webb, 59a Linton Road, Hastings, TN34 1TN

Havering

Wednesday 17th December, 7:30pm. We will be going for a Chinese meal at The Blue Orchid on North Street. It will be £25 per head and for that you will have a three-course Chinese dinner. If you would like to come then please email Sam Gould at sam@samlovesromford.org or call/text him on 07735 487673.

 

..For details of all meetings email  David Marshall david.c.marshall.t21@btinternet.com   tel 01708 441189. For latest information see the website: http://haveringfabians.org.uk


Hornsey and Wood Green


Hull


Islington


Leeds

For information on Leeds Fabians contact John Bracken at leedsfabians@gmail.com

Leicester


Manchester

Please contact Rosie Clayton for more information, mcrfabs@gmail.com  or go to Facebook www.facebook.com/ManchesterFabians    Twitter @MCR_Fab

Merseyside

For further information please contact Hetty Wood at hettyjay@gmail.com

Middlesbrough


Milton Keynes


Newham


Northumbria

For details and booking contact Pat Hobson at pat.hobson@hotmail.com

Northampton

Contact Dave Brede on davidbrede@yahoo.com

North Staffordshire


Norwich

Contact Andreas Paterson – andreas@headswitch.co.uk

Nottinghamshire

For information on meetings please contact Lee Garland

secretary@nottsfabians.org.uk

www.nottsfabians.org.uk

twitter
 @NottsFabians

———————————————————————–

Oxford

Details from Michael Weatherburn, michael.weatherburn@gmail.com


Peterborough

All meetings at the Quality Hotel, Thorpe Meadows, Commencing at 8 pm.   Details from Brian Keegan on 01733 265769, email brian@briankeegan.demon.co.uk

Portsmouth

Contact David Wardle : email david.wardle@waitrose.com

Reading & District

For details please contact Tony Skuse:

Telephone: 01189785829  /07793529280 e-mail: tonyskuse2000@yahoo.co.uk

Sheffield

Details and information from Robert Murray on 0114 255 8341 or email robertljmurray@hotmail.com

South East London

For details of meetings, contact Cllr Sally Prentice, email sally.prentice@btinternet.com

South West London

Information from Tony Eades at tonyeades@hotmail.co.uk

Southampton

Tuesday 9th December , 7.30 pm.   “Less than Six Months to Go – Campaigning in Southampton Itchen” – A discussion led by Izaak Wilson, Felicity Goodyear and Richard Parry. Representatives from John Denham MP’s office and Rowenna Davies campaign team will be giving a collaborative presentation on the next six-months campaigning. Also – Winter Social. Venue: St Andrew’s United Reform Church, The Avenue, Southampton, SO17 1XQ. Entry to the Church is via the glass doors at the front of the building.   Contact:  Eliot Horn, eliot.horn@btinternet.com 

South Tyneside

For more information please contact Paul Freeman on 0191 5367 633 or at freemanpsmb@blueyonder.co.uk

Suffolk

Thursday 4 December, from 11.30 am.Huw Irranca-Davies MP, shadow minister for Environment, Food and Rural Communities will be in Ipswich on Thursday 4th December, and Suffolk Fabians and Colchester Fabians are invited to attend. The meeting will take place from 11.30 to 12.15 at East of England Co-operative Education Centre, 11 Fore Street, Ipswich.    Details from John Cook on 01473 255131, email contact@ipswich-labour.org.uk

Surrey

Meetings at Education Centre, Guildford Cathedral.   Details from Robert Park on 01483 422253, robert.park.woodroad@gmail.com

Tonbridge & Tunbridge Wells

12 December. Christmas Social.16 January. Baroness Dianne Hayter on ‘Labour and the Voice of the Consumer’. 8.00 at 12 Broadwater Down, Tunbridge Wells. Contact John Champneys on 01892 523429.

———————————————————————-

Tower Hamlets

Regular meetings. Contact: Chris Weavers. chris-weavers@hotmail.com  or towerhamletsfabiansociety@googlemail.com

Twitter – @THFabians


Tynemouth

Monthly supper meetings, details from Brian Flood on 0191 258 3949

Warwickshire

Meetings at: 28 Regent Place, Rugby, CV21 2PN.  Details  from Ben Ferrett on ben_ferrett@hotmail.com

http://warwickshirefabians.blogspot.com


West Durham

Meets normally on the last Saturday of alternate months at the Joiners Arms, Hunwick between 12.15 and 2.00pm – light lunch £3.00

Contact the Secretary Cllr Professor Alan Townsend, 62A Low Willington, Crook, Durham DL15 OBG 01388 746479  Alan.Townsend@dur.ac.uk

Wimbledon

Contact Andy Ray on 07944 545161 or andyray@blueyonder.co.uk

York

Regular meetings on third or fourth Fridays at 7.45 at Jacob’s Well, Off Miklegate, York. Details from Steve Burton on steve.burton688@mod.uk