New Year Conference 2014 – Schedule

10.30: Welcome

Andrew Harrop, Fabian Society

10.30: Can Labour change Britain?

Ed Balls MP Chair: Jess Asato

11.20 – 12.20: How the Left delivers change when money is tight

Rachel Reeves MP, Polly Toynbee, Andrew Harrop, Paul Johnson Chair: Rafael Behr

12.30 – 13.30: Breakout Sessions

Starting to build: Delivering the homes, places and transport Britain needs

Emma Reynolds MP, Grainia Long, Lord Adonis, Lord Newby Special guest: Sir Michael Lyons Chair: Rebecca Evans

New partnership: Working with business to change business

Chuka Umunna MP, Frances Coppola, Stephen Ibbotson, Nicola Smith Chair: Seema Malhotra

Educating every child: changing the conversation on schools

Rushanara Ali MP, Peter Hyman, Mari Williams, Mary Bousted Chair: Michael Shaw

Tackling inequality and poverty: Work, welfare or something else?

Jack Monroe, Richard Wilkinson, Penny Young Chair: Kate Green

Pro-Europe, pro-reform: can the left win the Euro elections?

Gareth Thomas, Ania Skrzypek, Charles Grant, Claude Moraes Chair: Ivana Bartoletti

13.45 – 14.30 Lunch with…

… the Fabian authors

Alison McGovern, Gregg McClymont, David Walker Chair: Kate Green MP

…the Fabian Women’s Network: Caring for Whole Person

Caroline Abrahams Chair: Sarah Hutchinson

…the bloggers: Who will win in 2015?

George Eaton, Emma Burnell, Mark Pack, Jeremy Cliffe Chair: Ed Wallis

…the Young Fabians

James Hallwood in conversation with Stewart Wood

14.45 – 15.45 Breakout Sessions

Less market, less central state, more… what? Does Labour have an alternative for public services?

Liz Kendall MP, Matt Dykes, Sonia Sodha, Peter Kellner, Sarah Hayward Chair: Marcus Roberts

Changing politics: trust, power and stronger democracy

Stephen Twigg MP, Owen Jones, Baroness Helena Kennedy, Joe Klein Chair: Katie Ghose

Better off than our parents? Hope and prosperity for the new generation

Liam Byrne MP, Laurie Penny, Stewart Wood Chair: James Hallwood

Energy and climate change: going green, capping bills and keep the lights on

Caroline Flint MP, Chris Huhne, Rachel Cary, Natan Doron Chair: Nick Butler

2014… 2015: Winning the 15 month campaign

Joe Klein, Mark Ferguson, Rowenna Davis, James Morris Chair: Andrew Sparrow

16.30– 17.00 Can we change politics? trust, power and stronger democracy

Owen Jones, Helena Kennedy, Stephen Twigg, Katie Ghose Chair: Jacqui Ashley

17:00 – 18:00 Dragons Den

Maurice Glasman, Margaret Hodge, Lisa Nandy Chair: Sadiq Khan