New Year Conference: Next State – Full Timetable

New Year Conference: Next State featuring Ed Miliband. For ticket sales and other information please click here.

All sessions take place in the Logan Hall / Main Stage unless stated

9:45: Registration

Tea and coffee will be served in the foyer and around 15 partners and affiliates will be exhibiting.

10:30: Introduction

Jessica Asato (Chair, Fabian Society) and Andrew Harrop (General Secretary, Fabian Society) to welcome delegates and introduce the day’s programme.

10:45am: Ed Miliband

The session will be chaired by Andrew Harrop

11:30: Morning Plenary – Remaking The State: How should Labour Govern?

Featuring: Frances O’Grady (General Secretary, TUC), Rachel Reeves MP (Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury), Jaqui Smith (Former Home Secretary), Lord Wood (Shadow Cabinet Member without Portfolio) and Jason Cowley (Editor, New Statesman) (Chair).

12:30: Morning Breakouts

Pre Distribution: Can Government change markets? Location: Logan  Hall /  Main Stage

Featuring Lord Adonis (Labour’s Industrial Policy Lead), Will Hutton (Observer), Vicky Pryce (Former BiS economist), Sonia Sodha (Dartington Social Research Unit) and Karin Christiansen (General Secretary, Co-operative Party) (Chair).

Spending Tax Payers Money: Can Labour choose wisely? Location: Drama Studio

Featuring Jeremy Cliffe (The Economist), Dan Corry (Former Economic Adviser to Gordon Brown), Margaret Hodge MP (Chair, Public Accounts Committee), Michael Izza (Chief Executive, ICAEW), Ben Page (Pollster, Ipsos-Mori) and Anna Smee (Director, Ventures Team).

Brussels in Britain: Our European State. Location: Jeffrey Hall

Featuring Chris Bryant MP, Joe Twyman (YouGov), Emma Reynolds MP (Shadow Minister for Europe), Ernst Stetter (Secretary General, FEPS) and Cllr Sally Prentice (Lambeth) (Chair)

Making ‘One Nation Labour’ Work for Women. Location: Elvin Hall

Featuring Ivana Bartoletti (Editor, Fabiana), Ceri Goddard (chief executive, Fawcett Society), Sarah Hutchinson (Fabian Women’s Network), Dr. Rupa Huq, Deborah Mattinson (Britain Thinks), Cllr Matthew Pennycook (Resolution Foundation) and Yvonne Roberts (Observer) (Chair)

Book Discussion, Dogma and Disarray: Cameron at Half-Time Location: Clarke Hall

Featuring: Polly Toynbee (The Guardian), David Walker (journalist and former managing director at the Audit Commission)

13:30 **Lunch**

14:30: Afternoon Breakouts

Welfare: Changing the narrative, challenging the policy Location: Logan Hall / Main Stage

Featuring Frank Field MP (Former Minister for Welfare Reform), Kate Green MP (Shadow Equalities Minister), Deborah Mattinson (Britain Thinks), Alison McGovern MP and Rafael Behr (New Statesman) (Chair).

A new NHS: Repeal the act, but then what? Location: Elvin Hall

Featuring Peter Carter (Royal College of Nurses), Phil Collins (The Times), Liz Kendall MP (Shadow Health), Michelle Mitchell (AgeUK) and Mark Ferguson (LabourList) (Chair).

Localism: Letting Go and learning to trust the town hall Location: Drama Studio

Featuring Hilary Benn MP (Shadow Secretary of State for DCLG), Cllr Jim McMahon (Oldham), Steve Reed MP (former leader of Lambeth Council), Cllr Catherine West (Islington) and Jon Wilson (author, Letting Go) (Chair).

Education After Gove: Responding to a new landscape Location: Jeffrey Hall

Featuring Fiona Millar (Education Campaigner), Rick Muir (IPPR), Lisa Nandy MP (Shadow Education), Stephen Twigg (Shadow Secretary of State for Education) and Michael Shaw (Times Education supplement) (Chair).

Generation Crisis: Is ‘One Nation’ the answer?  Location: Clarke Hall

Featuring Luciana Berger MP, Dermot Finch (The Prince’s Trust), Sunny Hundal (Liberal Conspiracy), Shiv Malik (The Guardian), Joel Mullan and Steve Race (Chair, Young Fabians) (Chair).

15:30: Tea Break

Tea and coffee served

15:45: Afternoon Plenary: Silence is not an option: Roadblocks to the next majority

Featuring: Tim Montgomerie (Conservative:Home), James Morris (Pollster, Greenberg Quinlan Rosner Research),  Polly Toynbee (The Guardian) Stephen Twigg MP and Marcus Roberts (Deputy General Secretary, Fabian Society) (Chair).

16:45: Closing Session: The Fabian ‘Pledge Card’: Shaping the next manifesto

Featuring: Angela Eagle MP (Chair, Labour’s National Policy Forum), Owen Jones (The Independent), Tessa Jowell MP, Peter Kellner (President, YouGov) and Andrew Harrop (General Secretary, Fabian Society)

After Party: Institute of Education Student Union (closes at 21:30).